Lena Cup

 

Warning! Warning! Warning! 

This is a TMI blog! I will be going happily into lots of details!
In 2012 my periods stop coming after many doctor appointments I was diagnosed with PCOS. Polycystic ovary syndrome is a problem in which a woman’s hormones are out of balance. It can cause problems with your periods and make it difficult to get pregnant. After that diagnosis I started making changes in my life and lost about 50lbs. My menstrual cycle started back and shortly after I become pregnant with my son. Fast forward to him turning 16 months old my menstrual cycle started back.

The first 2 months were the worst I was going through pads like crazy. Spending $8.50 a bag and I need 3 bags a month that is about $25. I didn’t even want to think about all the chemicals I was coming in contact with each month.

I started thinking about alternatives to pads and tampons. A lot of my friends already changed over to cup. And I’ve been curious about them. So I looked at all the pros of making the switch

1. Cups are inexpensive. The average woman spends about $3000 dollars in her lifetime on disposable menstrual products. The average menstrual cups costs between $25-$50 and can be reused for ten or more years. Mean for my family no more $25 a month being thrown away.
2. Environmentally friendly The average woman throws away around 275lbs of tampons, pads and applicator in her lifetime.
3. No toxic chemicals Menstrual cups contain no bleaches, deodorizers or absorbency gels.
4. Lena Cup is Made in the USA

You know how people say “this product came into my life right when I needed it” and you normally roll your eyes. Well this is one of those times. My Lena cup arrived and I naturally started read everything in the package. Then the very next afternoon I got my menstrual cycle.

Day 1
I wasn’t expecting my menstrual cycle to come because I didn’t get it last month. (Having this problems before. I was hoping I wouldn’t have to go through that again or see a doctor about it) I wash my Lena Cup and started using it right away. At first it was a little difficult on placement but with a little adjustment and asking a friend; I got it.

Day 2
This was the worst day for me…. Don’t get me wrong the Lena Cup was great but my cycle wasn’t. I was still trying to learn how to put the cup in and placement. I was having a very heavy period I had to empty the cup every 2 hours. This isn’t ideal when you are at work. I work as a nanny which I guess is better because I’m not in a bathroom stall. At least I’m able to be in a home bathroom even though it’s not my home. Also it was hard because as a nanny you can’t tell a baby I need an extra minute in the bathroom to work this out. It was the longest 8 hours of my life.

Note: For regular flow you should only have to empty the cup every 10 to 12 hour. 2 times a day. Everyone’s flow is different so depending on flow.

Day 3
I got this. I learn everything I needed in those first two-day and mastered placement. I was able to get around without even noticing I had the cup in place. It was great.

Lena Cup comes in two sizes small(normal flow) and large(heavy flow) I use the large.

Before I started this blog I started talking about Lena Cup. I got tons of questions but the two mean ones “isn’t it messy” and “how does to hold up over night”. I honestly can say it’s not more messy than when you using other products. In fact I felt it was less messy no need to change your bathroom trash once a day. For over night leaking it was great. I had no more worries. I love the fact that I was able to wear it all night and not have to change my sheets in the morning.

I’m not going into how to insert, cleaning, dos and don’ts, etc Go check out Lena Cup’s blog/website/Facebook it is so informative. It has the greatest articles and answers all my questions. They have so much info that it can answer every question you might have. If you have any questions I might answer feel free to comment below.

I highly recommend if you are still using pads and other similar products make the switch to the Lena Cup. Please feel free to use code LENAMOON for 15% off at ‪lenacup.com‬ or Amazon.

img_0277
https://lenacup.com/
https://www.facebook.com/mylenacup
https://instagram.com/mylenacup
https://mobile.twitter.com/mylenacup

 

 

Leave a Reply

